Award of Distinction

The Award of Distinction is an annual recognition given by the Thames Valley District School Board Trustees to students, staff, volunteers, parents, and all individuals who have made significant contributions at a system or school level. Nominations for the 2018 Annual Award of Distinction are now being accepted.

Approximately twenty individuals are selected by the selection committee to receive the Award of Distinction and all nominees will receive a certificate of recognition.

Award Criteria
The selection criteria are based on Board's Mission, Vision and Commitments. The Nomination Letter and supporting material should provide clear evidence and examples that demonstrate how the nominee meets the selection criteria.
Nomination Submission 

The completed nomination package consists of three parts:

  1. Completed nomination form that MUST BE signed by the nominator.
  2. A nomination letter that describes why you are making the nomination and how the nominee meets the selection criteria.
  3. Supporting Material - You may have up to 10 pages (front to back) of supporting materials. If other supporting material is included in the nomination package, you will be contacted to revise your submission.

The completed nomination package must be submitted to the Award of Distinction Selection Committee c/o Deb Giesbrecht, Trustees' Office, by Tuesday, February 20, 2018 at 4:00 p.m.

Packages can be sent by board courier or dropped off at the board office,

Emailed to,

Faxed to 519-452-2396.

Letters of Support
Letters of support can be from colleagues, students, community representatives, etc. Support letters should provide clear evidence and examples that demonstrate how the nominee meets the selection criteria. The selection criteria are based on the Board's Mission, Vision and Commitments. This is the only information that the selection committee will consider regarding the nominee.

Please share this information with your staff, school community and organization at upcoming meetings. Help us celebrate the wonderful people in Thames Valley by spreading the news about the Award of Distinction.

For more information, contact Deb Giesbrecht at 519-452-2000 ext. 20219. 


Thames Valley 2017 Award of Distinction Recipients

ASD Class Team - Locke's Public School

Jeff Anderson, Chris Acheson and Marg Tenbruggencate


Rajaa Al-Abed and Bo Vladetic

SWIS worker and ESL Department Head, Westminster S.S.


Kimberly Alexander
Teacher, B. Davison S.S.


Rosemary Bannerman
Music Teacher, Sir Wilfrid Jury P.S.


Anne Burrows
Educational Assistant, Westminster S.S.


Chris Clarke
Charge Custodian, Arthur Ford P.S.


Brenda DeGier
LST, Huron Park S.S.


Sharon Gowdey
Parent Volunteer, Central Elgin C.I.


Jason Harloff
Kindergarten Teacher, Byron Northview P.S.


Frances Martinkevicius
Volunteer, Port Burwell P.S.


Hoda Najm
PTA President, White Oaks P.S.


Oakridge S.S. Student Culture for Learning Committee
Nika Bajaj, Keenan Dawdy, Alex Drouillard, Aiden Duffy, Dianna Farfaras, Erin Fitzhenry,
Emma Kirwin, Mustfah Madlol, Jordan Pare and Angelica Theocharis


Oxford County Student Voice Group
Shelby Austin, Margaret Corlett, Gwennan De Rudder, Jada Downing, Gwen Garon, Alex Golden, Riley Hamilton,
Paul Loura, Laura Oxley, Sophia Romanick, Caitlin Sim, Zach Staddon and Brittany Wilson


Steve Richards
Music Teacher, C.C. Carrothers P.S.


Julie Ruberto
Teacher, Stoney Creek P.S.


Joe Sheik
Principal, University Heights P.S.


Christopher Silcox
Mathematics Learning Coordinator K-8, Math Coach


Sonya Smith
Administrative Assistant, South Ridge P.S.


Nancy Ticknor
Volunteer/NHS at Knollwood Park P.S.


Leslie Vanderbrink

Educational Assistant, John Wise P.S.


Tam Woo
Volunteer, Caradoc P.S.

Contact Us